This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message


Print page

AICA, the ECDL Foundation National Operator in Italy, in association with LABSITA, has launched an endorsed programme called, 'GIS' (Geographic Information System).

GIS certification demonstrates skills in the following areas:

  • Basic Concepts of IT used in GIS
  • The components of Geographical Information Systems
  • Geodesy and topography applied to GIS
  • Concepts and techniques of digital cartography
  • Techniques for analysing and viewing in GIS
  • These skills are tested by multiple choice questions and practical tests in the most commonly used GIS software

Who is it For?

The GIS certification is aimed at professionals who wish to demonstrate their GIS skills by obtaining a recognised qualification.

It is designed for:

  • Those who wish to have an officially recognised national (and international) certification of their GIS skills
  • Educational institutions that want to provide an additional professional and technical skill and a recognised professional qualification to assist job-seekers
  • Public bodies and agencies that require an objective certification of the basic knowledge and practical skills of their employees. Employees may have different skill levels (with different qualifications) and work on different tasks, using both GIS and spatial data
  • Private companies working in a range of sectors from GIS to IT networks that intend to employ people based on an objective evaluation of their knowledge and skills

While the GIS certification has been specifically developed for the Italian market, it has been endorsed by ECDL Foundation, who involved expert representatives of EUROGI (The European Umbrella Organisation for Geographical Information) during the endorsement process.

How Does it Work?

GIS Modules

The GIS certification has 3 separate modules, all of which must be completed to become certified:

Module 1: Cartography

This module covers cartography, starting with the geodesy basics required to use data in a GIS.

Module 2: GIS Systems

This module addresses GIS components and data models for the appropriate representation of real world objects in a GIS. It also covers the concept of topology and the spatial analysis applied to both raster and vector data, which describe continuous fields and discrete real world entities.

Module 3: Use of the GIS Software

This module is of a practical nature and covers the use of specific GIS software.

The GIS certification is vendor neutral and covers many common tasks carried out in different types of GIS software. Vendor neutrality is a requirement of ECDL Foundation, which endorses the programme. The certification has been approved for use on ESRI and Intergraph software.

The Test

Modules 1 and 2 are theoretical modules and are evaluated by multiple choice questions. Module 3 is a practical test on live data using a GIS programme.

For more information about GIS in Italy, please visit the GIS website.