This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message

October 2005 - ECDL Foundation announces global awards for outstanding contribution to Digital Liter

Print page
Blank Image


ECDL Foundation has announced the worldwide winners of the ECDL Foundation Digital Literacy Awards 2005 at a high-profile international Awards ceremony held in Zurich on October 13th 2005.

The event was attended by Government Ministers, representatives from the United Nations, over 30 national Computer Societies, ECDL and ICDL Licensees representing 140 countries across the five continents and internationally respected thinkers on digital literacy.

The event marked the inauguration of these prestigious Awards which will now become an annual international event. ECDL Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to bridging the digital divide by providing access for all to the Information Society and is the leading provider of end-user computer skills certifications worldwide.

ECDL Foundation is the global governing body and licensing authority of the European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL), the internationally recognised standard for end-user computer skills. In addition to the ECDL, ECDL Foundation offers a range of internationally recognised certifications catering for every level of computer-use experience from complete beginners to expert end-users and users with specialised interests.

As an organisation committed to promoting digital literacy globally, ECDL Foundation has established these Digital Literacy Awards to acknowledge and reward individuals and organisations around the world that have made a difference in the advancement of digital literacy. Each year three Awards will be made in recognition of outstanding achievement in this area.

Speaking at the Awards, ECDL Foundation's CEO Mr David Carpenter said, “The ECDL Foundation Digital Literacy Awards were established to reward innovation, vision and leadership shown by individuals or organisations in promoting digital literacy.''

For more information please contact:
Marketing department of ECDL Foundation
T: +353 1 630 000