This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message

ECDL Foundation Launches Syllabus Version 5.0

Print page
Blank Image

Barcelona, 18th October – Today ECDL Foundation unveiled ECDL / ICDL1 Syllabus Version 5.0 at a high profile gathering of ECDL Foundation's  National Operators2 in Barcelona, Spain. The new features of Syllabus Version 5.0 focus on the evolving computer skills and knowledge areas required to meet the challenges of a digital society. Syllabus Version 5.0 lists the skills and knowledge that must be obtained by a Candidate to become ECDL / ICDL certified.

Syllabus Version 5.0 builds on the success of Syllabus Version 4.0 through a process of evolution. The essential structure of seven modules remains. New areas accommodated include personal devices and new communication technologies. There is an emphasis on accessibility with the ECDL / ICDL Syllabus and tests maximising comprehension and enhancing accessibility through the use of plain language.

The main principle underlying the revision of the ECDL / ICDL Syllabus was the need to accommodate technological changes in today’s fast developing ICT world. Key concepts of Syllabus Version 5.0 reflect the technology landscape that a Candidate inhabits. As such, Syllabus Version 5.0 reflects innovations in mobile computing and considers new emerging media, such as ‘podcasting,’ and new areas of communication, such as ‘Voice over IP’, ‘online chat’, etc. Syllabus Version 5.0 also provides a Candidate with answers on how to manage newly emerged security threats, such as ‘phishing’ and ‘spy ware’.

The official launch of Syllabus Version 5.0 was attended by professionals from national computer societies and international organisations in 148 countries around the world.

On a national basis the organisations that run the ECDL / ICDL programme will commence their localisation process and will announce the roll-out and availability of the new Syllabus in the coming months.

ECDL / ICDL is the world’s leading end-user computer skills certification programme. To date, more than 7 million people in 148 countries participate in the ECDL / ICDL certification programme. Syllabus Version 5.0 was developed by ECDL Foundation through a rigorous development process that incorporated inputs from computer users and professionals from all over the world to ensure that the ECDL / ICDL programme remains the global standard in ICT certification programmes.

1 The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is known as the International Computer Driving Licence (ICDL) outside Europe.
2 ECDL Foundation's National Operators represent professionals from national computer societies and international organisations in 148 countries around the world.

For more information contact:
ECDL Foundation
Phone: +353 1 630 6000