This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message

17 EU members late in implementing new cybersecurity directive

Print page
Blank Image

17 EU Member States have been asked to formally transpose the Directive on Security of Network and Information Systems (NIS Directive) into national law. The deadline to implement the necessary laws at national level was 9 May this year, but so far, only 11 countries have indicated that they have done so.

The NIS Directive aims to improve cybersecurity nationally, encourage greater cooperation on cybersecurity at EU-level, and place new obligations for managing risks and reporting incidents on organisations that provide essential services, including digital service providers.

The countries that have been formally notified of the need to transpose the NIS Directive are Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Spain.

More information can be found on the website of the European Commission.

Tags: Europe